Asian Studies in Africa

A-Asia / ICAS Africa-Asia Book Prize 2015 - Rules and Regulations

1. The A-Asia / ICAS Africa-Asia Book Prize (AAIBP) has been established by the International Convention of Asia Scholars in 2013. Its aim is to create an international focus for publications on Africa-Asia while increasing their worldwide visibility. Academic books in the Humanities and Social Sciences eligible should either be written by an African scholar on an Asian topic or by any other author on Africa-Asia (transnational) linkages. The AAIBP is awarded for outstanding English / French / Portuguese-language works in the field of Africa-Asian Studies, which must have a 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015  (before 15 March 2015) copyright date. Reference works, anthologies, fiction, poetry, travel books, autobiographies, memoirs, pamphlets, textbooks and exhibition catalogues are not eligible.
2. Books must be submitted by publishers (academic presses or commercial publishers).
3. The ICAS Secretariat administers the AAIBP. It is responsible for the formation of the Reading Committee for the AAIBP. The ICAS Secretary will act as secretary to the Reading Committee.
4. The Reading Committee will adhere to jointly agreed points of departure in its decision making process. The decision of the Reading Committee is final.
5. The prizes will be awarded at the Inaugural A-ASIA Conference in Accra (Ghana) 24-26 September 2015.
6. Publishers should first submit the details of nominated books online. In total five copies of of the nominated book have to be sent by 15 March 2015 to the ICAS Secretariat. Please see address details below.
7. Do note that submitted works that are not eligible will not be returned.

Leiden, 23 December 2014

ICAS Secretariat
P.O. Box 9500
2300 RA Leiden
The Netherlands / / +31-71-5272227